Shotgun for Turkeys?

General chat about The Hunter. For suggestions, please use the "Suggestions"-room below.
Luziano
Hunter

Shotgun for Turkeys?

Post by Luziano »

I always hunted turkeys with bows, so I have no experience using shotguns for turkey. Quick question for those of you who hunt them with shotguns, does the noise spook birds that are not near by just like shot noises spook deer, etc? If so you can you spook birds out of render range? Ej. You shoot, spook them and fly away lets say 120 meters. You shoot again and then they will flee away another 120meters, putting them outside the range of your calls.

Thanks for the info!
Dr_ViEr
Hunter

Re: Shotgun for Turkeys?

Post by Dr_ViEr »

Luziano wrote:I always hunted turkeys with bows, so I have no experience using shotguns for turkey. Quick question for those of you who hunt them with shotguns, does the noise spook birds that are not near by just like shot noises spook deer, etc? If so you can you spook birds out of render range? Ej. You shoot, spook them and fly away lets say 120 meters. You shoot again and then they will flee away another 120meters, putting them outside the range of your calls.

Thanks for the info!
Yes
Spoiler:
Dr_ViEr
Hunter

Post by Dr_ViEr »

Best for turkey is the xbow-pistol
Spoiler:
Luziano
Hunter

Post by Luziano »

Thank you. Yes I have experience with the xbow pistol I wanted to try something new.
DanthemanBoone
Outfitter

Post by DanthemanBoone »

You might like to consider the .22 grasshopper pistol for turkeys as well . It is zeroed at 100m with the big pistol scope and does not spook anything outside of 100m.
If you are shooting closer than that you will need to aim lower, eg at 25m just use the first checkmark above the crosshair, and adjust your sighting dropping back to the crosshair gradually, as you increase back to 100. I have shot Turkeys right across the lake on whitehart, 200m plus.
Works exactly the same with the wood grouse and rabbits..